ANOC Awards 2019 to honour best athletes from five Continental Games

ANOC Awards 2019 to celebrate the Best Male and Best Female athlete from the five Continental Games

The Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) today announced the award categories for the ANOC Awards 2019, which will honour outstanding athlete performances from the five continents.

ANOC Awards for the Best Male Athlete of 2019 and the Best Female Athlete of 2019 from each continent will be presented, in addition to four special individual awards. The ceremony will take place in Doha’s multi-purpose venue, Katara Hall, in the heart of the Katara Cultural Village on 17 October 2019.

The sixth edition of the ANOC Awards will provide an opportunity to celebrate the exceptional work of NOCs and their athletes over the past year. The winners of each award were selected by the ANOC Jury from a shortlist provided by each of the Continental Associations, following the five Continental Games in the past 18 months. Athletes who performed exceptionally during the following events will be honoured at the Awards Ceremony:

  • African Games Rabat 2019
  • Asian Games Jakarta Palembang 2018
  • European Games Minsk 2019
  • Pacific Games Samoa 2019
  • Pan American Games Lima 2019

The Continental Associations each submitted a shortlist to the Jury, which then selected the winners. The ANOC Jury is comprised of the President of each Continental Association, representatives from ASOIF and representatives from the ANOC Athletes’ Commission.

ANOC Secretary General, Gunilla Lindberg said:

“We are really looking forward to hosting the sixth edition of the ANOC Award in Doha, and to once again celebrate the outstanding athletes from each Continent. We first categorised the Awards based on Continental Games performances during the 2015 ANOC Awards, where it proved to be a great success. With this in mind, and with the exceptional standard of competitions during each of the Continental Games, we are delighted to follow this format for the second time this year.

“Continental Games are integral to NOCs, providing vital experience and qualification opportunities for their athletes ahead of the Olympic Games in Tokyo next year. Over the past 18 months, we have had the pleasure of enjoying five Continental Games of the highest standard, filled with memorable performances. We are looking forward to reliving these moments with the whole NOC family during the ANOC Awards 2019.”

The ANOC Awards 2019 will take place on the occasion of the XXIV ANOC General Assembly which will be held on 17-18 October in Doha, Qatar at the Sheraton Grand Doha Resort & Convention Hotel. More than 1,000 senior delegates from the Olympic Movement are expected to attend the General Assembly, including representatives from 205 NOCs, International Federations, the IOC and OCOGs. The ANOC General Assembly and Awards follow the inaugural ANOC World Beach Games, which take place from 12-16 October in the Qatari capital.

Latest Articles