Aquathlon is an excellent way for novice athletes to enter the world of multisport, and for experienced triathletes to add something different to their race routines.

Aquathlon consists of three legs, with a swim sandwiched between two run segments. The official distances for the annual Aquathlon World Championships are a 2.5km run, 1km swim, and 2.5km run. This can change if the water temperature is lower than 22 degrees, in which case the race becomes a 1km swim followed by a 5km run.


Three significant steps in the history of Aquathlon

1950: The modern roots of aquathlon start at life guarding races in Australia.

1998: The first ITU (now World Triathlon) Aquathlon World Championship is held in Noosa (AUS).

2021: Aquathlon becomes part of the sports core program of the ANOC World Beach Games 2023 and 2025.

Highlights ofAquathlon

Aquathlon Main Image

World Triathlon

On the programme of the AWBG

2019Qatar, QAT