Estonian Athletes of the Year 2020 revealed

WRC rally team Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja received Estonian Athlete of the Year 2020 award ‘Kristjan’ while figure skating coach Anna Levandi received the ‘Kristjan’ award as the Coach of the Year. The award show was held in accordance with the COVID-19 regulations in Estonia.

In 2020, the one and only title of Athlete of the Year was to be to an individual or a team instead of the three categories, which are Male Athlete of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year and Team of the Year. The tandem of Tänak and Järveoja, 2020 Rally Estonia winners and 2nd place owners from Rally Sweden, Rally Mexico and Rally Monza, bested all other nominees in the public voting as well as sports journalists’ voting and ranked second in the sports federations’ voting. All of the above secured the Athlete of the Year award ‘Kristjan’ for the rally tandem.

The Coach of the Year 2020 title was awarded to Anna Levandi, who is supervising the training of 17-year-old Eva-Lotta Kiibus. Youth Olympic Games winner, freestyle skier Kelly Sildaru was announced as the Young Athlete of the Year while Merle Vantsi, who holds six gold medals of Winter Swimming World Championships, was awarded the Veteran Athlete of the Year title.

The title of the Estonian Sporting Spirit 2020 was awarded to the legendary equestrian Sirje Argus. The public voting had also determined the winner of the sports-friendly local municipality contest, which is the city of Rakvere. The facilities to have received the Sports Venues of the Year title were Türi sports hall and Vastseliina hockey rink.

The awards ceremony “Athlete of the Year 2020” was organized by the Estonian Olympic Committee with support from the Cultural Endowment of Estonia and Postimees Grupp.

Latest Articles