Kazakhstan NOC honours 2021 National Sports Awards winners

The President of the National Olympic Committee of Kazakhstan, Timur Kulibayev, paid a lavish tribute to the country’s athletes as boxer Saken Bibossinov and karateka Sofya Berultseva won the top awards at the Altyn Samgay 2021 National Sports Awards on Sunday, December 12.

“We are proud of the successes and victories of our athletes. In honour of the victory, the banner of independent Kazakhstan is raised, the anthem of our country is played. We are all proud of your successes, results. We wish you health, happiness, good luck and new victories,” said President Kulibayev.

The Altyn Samgay 2021 National Sports Awards was timed to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the Independence of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Among the many dignitaries at the colourful ceremony was Prime Minister Askar Mamim.

Tokyo Olympics 2020 bronze medallists Bibossinov and Berultseva won the main two awards on the night, the Best Athlete Award and Best Sportswoman Award respectively.

Bibossinov, who won a bronze medal in the men’s flyweight category, said: “I am very happy that I was chosen as Best Athlete, but I think that all our athletes are real winners. This is my first time participating in the National Sports Awards, and this is the only event where you can probably see all our Olympic champions, sports veterans in one place and I’m honoured to be with them.”

Due to pandemic restrictions, the Awards was held in a hybrid format in three cities – the main ceremony in the capital Nur-Sultan, and specially equipped studios in Almaty and Turkestan were connected online, allowing for the safe participation of nominees and guests.

Full List of Award Winners

Best Athlete: Saken Bibossinov (boxing)

Best Sportswoman: Sofya Berultseva (karate)

Best Athlete Winter Sports: Denis Nikisha (speed skating)

Best Sportswoman Winter Sports: Julia Galysheva (freestyle skiing)

Best Coach, Summer Sports: Myrzagali Aitzhanov (boxing)

Best Coach, Winter Sports: Madygali Karsybekov (short track speed skating)

Team of the Year: Kazakhstan Futsal Team

Breakthrough of the Year: Nurkanat Azhikanov (karate)

Best National Sports Federation: Kazakhstan Tennis Federation

Best Athlete, Paralympics: David Degtyarev (para powerlifting)

Best Coach, Para sports: Zhandos Kiyanov (para judo)

Best Sports Medicine Specialist: Dr. Azamat Nurmatov

Special Award, Property of Kazakhstan Sports: Zhaksylyk Ushkempirov (Greco-Roman Wrestling)

Latest Articles