Two IOC Vice-Presidents, Two IOC Executive Board Members and five new IOC Members elected by IOC Session

The 136th IOC Session, the first to be held by videoconference, saw the election of a number of important positions to the IOC with many of those elected coming from the NOC family. During the Session, IOC President Thomas Bach also announced that he would be standing for election for another four year term.

Australian Olympic Committee President John Coates and Singapore National Olympic Council Vice President Ser Miang Ng were elected as IOC Vice-Presidents. They will replace Turkish Olympic Committee President Professor Ugur Erdener and member of the Spanish National Olympic Committee Juan Antonion Samaranch.

ANOC Executive Council member Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski and Argentina National  Olympic Committee President Gerardo Werthein were elected to the IOC Executive Board. Jaworski becomes the first ever Asian female Executive Board member and with her election female representation on the Executive Board has grown to 33.3%. U.S Olympic Committee Board of Directors Member Anita DeFrantz became IOC  First Vice-President.

Five new IOC Members were also elected by the Session, four of whom were elected as individual members with former ANOC Youth Commission Chair and ANOC Executive Council Ex-Officio member, Lord Sebastian Coe, elected as IOC  Member linked to his position as President of World Athletics.

The four individual IOC Members elected were:

  • Maria de la Caridad Colón Ruenes (Board member of the Cuban Olympic Committee)
  • Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović (former President of the Republic of Croatia)
  • Princess Reema Bandar Al-Saud (Board member of the Saudi Arabian Olympic Committee)
  • Battushig Batbold (Acting President of the Mongolian National Olympic Committee)

Latest Articles